Showers of Thoughts… With a sparkly new Poll!!

I can now safely say that I am an all-weather-cycle-commuter- be it sunshine, rain, hail, heavy winds, snow and ice, I have ridden through it (until it got too severe). But over the past couple of weeks in this lovely hot weather I’ve really been getting my sweat on. It’s not too much of a problem because most students smell and in the shop I work at you can only smell the pasties.

However what about those inner city people whose body odour must be none existant in their numerous board meetings?

Would such a thing be obscene in a place of work?

How about showers?

I think, and I could be wrong in which case I could be soon corrected, Wiltshire County Council has showers at their offices. Wouldn’t it be great if cycle-commuters could have a quick shower before they began working their shift at any office? Of course, my ideas are highly unlikely to heard (although Coca Cola mixed with Cherry Sourz was unavailable and untasted anywhere until I once ordered it in Jax in Chippenham and now I can order it everywhere… I never get credit for that)  and this is only in the early stages but I think the idea, although distant and weird, could one day be feasible. There are three reasons for my logic:

The Equivalent of a Multi-story Car Park

1. The car park. Was there such a thing as a building several stories high for the simple utility of storing a car before the car was invented? No. Such buildings came about because there was an increasing demand for a place where the future of transport could be stored. So if cycling becomes really popular and becomes the new future of our transport will places be built for the housing and services of the people and their bikes. Already in some cities large parking areas for bikes are becoming available- could showers be viable too….

The Automated Toilet. At the moment I'm too scared to use one.

2. The Automated Toilet. Ah the humble toilet! But in automatic form- you mean no-one cleans it?– no sir, hence it’s automatic! Yes indeed. Such Post-Modern design gives me hope that a shower version could be made. Perhaps it could wash, soap and dry you at the press of a button and afterwards clean itself (don’t you hate it when you find a foreign hair lurking in the shower). My dream would be that on a hot and sunny day when you’re that little bit sweaty- well saturated and it’s evidently dripping off your face- you can park your bike up in the multi storey bike park and jump in and have a shower, get changed and carry on with your business filled day. Of course timing might be an issue- how long do be shower for on average- I’ve known people take over an hour and they shall remain nameless, or below 5 minutes. How long do you give people to get changed?

Please note the two Brompton riders

3. The apparent urge for people to use their cars less. If people were serious about ditching their cars they’d stop making so many excuses. Being sweaty is one of them. Unless you live in the town of Bedrock you’re unlikely to make so much effort and energy to make your car move. Steering can sometimes require energy and so can putting your foot down on a clutch and the brake but not enough to make yourself sweat; even then you may be able to put the air- con on. Going in a car is sweat free so why ditch the car and get all sweaty in that hot, hot sun? I believe incentives are needed to make people want to cycle instead, to try to persuade them to at least give it a try and in my deepest thoughts I came up with showers!

Or, alternatively, we could just live the fact that human beings smell and realise that all this nice smelly stuff (which I do love) is just a marketing ploy… but that’s another topic!

hmmmmmmmm


One response to “Showers of Thoughts… With a sparkly new Poll!!

  1. Yes Wiltshire Council provides showers for cyclists (1 male one [I assume there is also a female one] for all 600 staff at County Hall!). I don’t know about the Hub Offices though.

    What we don’t have, not since April 1st 2009, is a “County”, we’re a Unitary Authority now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

